My Husband Home

Okay, by now people are probably tired of seeing my lengthy Facebook posts of how happy I am to be in Ethiopia, so I decided to put it on my blog because it’s a lot easier for people to avoid my blog than for them to avoid my Facebook statuses.
Here is my most recent epiphany:
I have lived many places, and honestly, many of them felt like home. So while I expected lots of challenges moving here, I hoped that I would at least grow to love my life in Ethiopia.
What I did not anticipate was to suddenly find a hole in my heart being filled. It was a hole I didn’t know was there. I never knew I was missing a piece of me until I found it.
So my best analogy of this feeling is that I can only assume this is it must feel like to find the one person in all the world you commit yourself to marrying.
I’m sure there will be hard times (and there have been many already), but right now, I’m in love, and I am committed deeply and will choose to remain committed even when it grows agonizingly painful or tedious, even when it isn’t easy, even when one of my husband’s brothers steals my phone.
Everywhere I’ve lived before this, those places were boyfriends, but Ethiopia, this is my husband-home. This is where I am committed, devoted, in sickness (like right now) and in health, for better or for worse, for iPhone or no.
In essence, God is going to have to use a crane to pull me from here if He ever tells me to leave.
Ethiopia, I never want to leave you, and please don’t ever kick me out.

About undressingthedragon

I ran away from God a lot, but He kept lavishing me in His love, and it's harder to run now that I know what that feels like. Undressing the Dragon comes from a portion of "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" from The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis in which the cousin Eustace gets turned into a dragon. When Aslan, the lion, peels off his scales, it hurts, but it is worth it for the healing and freedom of being a boy again. I want my dragon heart to be peeled into a heart of flesh that beats alive for the cause of Christ. I have a few thousand dreams in life from being a writer to musician to missionary to wife and I don't think I will ever accomplish everything, but it hasn't entered into the heart of Hannah the things God has for me who loves Him, so I guess I shouldn't worry about it so much.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Husband Home

  1. David Boothroyd says:

    No, not tired of your Facebook posts and seeing how happy you are in Ethiopia. I’ve been going through a rough patch lately, seeing your posts and others like it have helped encourage me.

    • I’m sorry you’ve been going through a rough patch! To be honest, the past two weeks have been pretty ugly for me and being here has been the gift that God has continued to unwrap in the midst of it all. I do hope things pick up for you, you’ve been a huge influence on my life and you and Linda are so unbelievably encouraging!

Leave a Reply

